Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

Trio toasted, roasted for CASW service

For their collective service of more than 90 years to CASW, Board Directors Philip Boffey, Warren Leary and David Perlman retired from active Board duty and were honored at a dinner at the Cosmos Club in Washington, DC, on April 8, 2011. Toasted and “roasted” by long-time Board colleagues, the trio of emeriti will continue as volunteer counselors and fonts of wisdom for current and future Directors. Boffey (left in photo), an editorial writer at The New York Times, and Leary (right), a retired Washington-based Times science writer, were given special citations for their work on numerous committees and events for the Council. Perlman, a science writer at the San Francisco Chronicle and a former CASW President, was made a Lifetime Fellow.