Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

2017-18 Taylor/Blakeslee Fellows aim to 'elevate the public conversation about science'

Five writers with varied backgrounds in crime and business reporting, science and education have been awarded the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing's prestigious Taylor/Blakeslee University Fellowships supporting graduate study in science writing.

The Fellows will receive a $5,000 award for the 2017-18 academic year, bringing to 156 the number of science writers aided by CASW’s graduate fellowships since 1981.

Chosen from a field of 33 outstanding applicants were:

Fatima Husain (pictured above right). Husain, who is completing a bachelor's degree in geology and chemistry at Brown University, began pitching her writing to magazines as a high school student. In college she continued to pursue her interest in writing, serving as science editor for The College Hill Independent, a weekly Providence newspaper coordinated by undergraduates at Brown and the Rhode Island School of Design. Involvement in climate research sparked Husain's concern about sensational, agenda-driven writing and misinformation. She will attend the MIT graduate program in science writing and looks forward to getting lab experience in an unfamiliar field.

Heather Mongilio (@HMongiliocompleted her bachelor’s degree in journalism and psychology at American University in 2015 and went to work covering crime and courts for the Carroll County Times in Maryland. Having taken a course in health and environmental reporting, she found herself looking for ways to incorporate medicine and science into her reporting. Her dream job is as a science or medical reporter with a major daily. She will also enter the MIT graduate program in science writing and hopes to study neuroscience while at MIT.

Jeremy RehmJeremy Colin Rehm (@jrehm_sciearned a bachelor’s degree in biology at Brigham Young University and pursued graduate studies in ecology and evolutionary biology at Brown University, where he is completing a master's degree. His science studies have taken him into the western states and to Panama and Belize, and his involvement in science education has taken him into the communities around campuses and as far afield as Tanzania. Along the way, he has captured science in context through essays, profiles, blogging and multimedia productions and even a planetary science book written as a holiday gift for his family. Rehm will polish his skill at writing for the general public by attending the science communication graduate program at the University of California, Santa Cruz.

Elizabeth WhitmanElizabeth Whitman (@elizabethwhitty) has reported from the United Nations and written feature stories about Syrian refugees, public health, medicine, climate change and women’s rights from the Middle East. She currently reports on the health care industry. In March, her writing for Modern Healthcare was recognized with the Jesse H. Neal Award for Best Range of Work by a Single Author. A 2011 history graduate of Columbia University, she is heading back to Columbia for a master’s degree in science journalism. In her fellowship application, Whitman wrote: “Now is a critical time for elevating the public conversation about science…. Journalists share the responsibility for fostering an informed discussion of what we know and how we know it, and for bringing the public into this conversation through ethical, accurate writing about scientific findings and developments.” 

Charlie WoodAfter completing a bachelor’s degree in physics at Brown, Charles Wood (@walkingthedot) headed for Korea, Mozambique and Japan as a teacher of English and physics. Landing afterward at the Christian Science Monitor as an intern, he found that writing about science combined his passion for explaining with his love of science. He will join the Science, Health and Environmental Reporting Program (SHERP) at New York University. “I hope to become a skilled science journalist who can acknowledge the context surrounding each new development," he explained in his application, "while conveying to the public a nuanced but engaging picture of what’s going on in the lab or out in the field.” 

CASW's graduate fellowships are underwritten by a grant from The Brinson Foundation, a Chicago-based philanthropic organization. They honor the late Rennie Taylor and Alton Blakeslee, science writer and science editor respectively for the Associated Press. More information may be found on this page.


TON and CASW launch "story diagrams" series

Today we’re thrilled to announce a new collaboration that we hope will benefit science writers at all levels of experience, from students to veterans. With support from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, CASW and The Open Notebook are partnering to produce a series of annotated stories aimed at shedding light on what makes some of the best science writing so outstanding.

A group of distinguished judges will select stories from among winners of major science-writing awards to be presented as “story diagrams,” or Storygrams. The Storygrams will be featured at TON, along with Q&A interviews with the stories’ authors.

Additionally, they’ll be featured at the soon-to-launch CASW Showcase website, which will republish additional selected award-winning science stories and provide community updates on award programs. Through the Storygrams, both TON and CASW hope to show how tough challenges in science journalism and communication can be surmounted as well as amplify the impact of these exceptional stories.

In the first annotation, coming next week, environmental and science journalist Tom Yulsman, a professor of journalism at the University of Colorado Boulder, dissects science journalist Cally Carswell’s award-winning 2013 High Country News story “The Tree Coroners.” TON and CASW look forward to bringing more Storygrams to the science journalism community soon.

Published May 26, 2016

CASW elects new board members, officers

The Council for the Advancement of Science Writing is pleased to announce that three new members have joined the board, while two continuing board members are rotating into officer slots. Board and officer elections took place during the Council's annual meeting April 30 at the UCSF Mission Bay Conference Center in San Francisco, Calif.

New directors elected to three-year terms (and pictured left to right) are:

With CASW's program agenda expanding and the World Conference of Science Journalists coming to the US in 2017, the election of new members is intended to restore the volunteer board to full strength after a series of recent retirements. Other members recently elected are:

Members newly elected to officer slots at the April meeting are freelance science writer Robin Lloyd, vice president, and National Public Radio science correspondent Richard Harris, treasurer. They succeed Deborah Blum and Tom Siegfried, who have stepped down as vice president and treasurer, respectively, while continuing on the board. Continuing as officers for 2016-17 are Alan Boyle, president, and Charles Petit, secretary. CASW officers are elected annually.

"We're proud to have these leaders in science writing and philanthropy on our team as we take on new challenges, including next year's World Conference of Science Journalists in San Francisco and other programs we'll be launching in the months ahead," Boyle said. "CASW is now in a good position to build on more than a half-century of improving the quantity and quality of science news reaching the public." 

Carlo Croce

Distinguished University Professor and chair, Department of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics; director, Human Cancer Genetics Program, director, OSU Comprehensive Cancer Center
The Ohio State University


Subscribe to Council for the Advancement of Science Writing RSS