Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

CASW Articles

December 05, 2009

In 2010, CASW commemorated its first half-century. The 50-year celebration included:

September 15, 2009

Six science writers have been awarded CASW Travel Fellowships to cover the cost of attending the 2009 New Horizons in Science briefing for journalists, to be hosted by the University of Texas at Austin, October 18-20. The fellowships are intended primarily for reporters from smaller metropolitan print and broadcast news outlets, freelancers and webcasters with a demonstrated interest in science writing. They offer a unique introduction to science reporting that will prove of long-term benefit to the individual and the profession. 

September 15, 2009

See updated story here.

Denise Grady, a New York Times science reporter, has been selected to receive the 2009 Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting in recognition of the unusual breadth and depth of her coverage of a wide range of health issues, both domestic and international.

July 27, 2009

CASW is honored to be the first organization elected as an associate member of the World Federation of Science Journalists, an international organization representing science and technology writers from Africa, the Americas, the Asia-Pacific, Europe and the Middle East. The action was taken by the WFSJ Board as 1,000 journalists, communicators, and scientists gathered recently in London for the 6th World Conference of Science Journalists in London.

May 27, 2009

CASW joined with the Knight Science Journalism Center at MIT, Harvard's Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy and other organizations to bring a discussion of "The Future of Science Journalism" to the Cambridge (Mass.) Science Festival on April 28, 2009.

The program's speakers included MIT President Susan Hockfield, New York Times Managing Editor Jill Abramson and a panel introduced by CASW President Cristine Russell.