Student, professional science writers attend ScienceWriters2021 with CASW support

CASW is happy to announce that five journalists have been awarded New Horizons attendance fellowships to support their participation in the ScienceWriters2021 virtual conference. In addition, 11 student writers who participated in the David Perlman Mentoring Program organized by the National Association of Science Writers received conference attendance grants from CASW.

2021 New Horizons Fellows

Lenah Bosibori is a print and radio journalist based in Nairobi, Kenya, specializing in agriculture and development news. She reports for several international news agencies in addition to magazine and newspaper work.

Sherree Geyer is a Phoenix, Arizona-based freelance health and medical journalist and media relations consultant who writes for clinical, pharmacy, and health IT readerships.

Viola Kosome, based in Kisumu City, Kenya, works in television production and is a correspondent for Mediamax.

Nesia Mhaka is an environmental reporter based in Harare, Zimbabwe, currently working as climate change reporter with Climate Tracker.

Shakoor Ahmad Rather of New Delhi, India, is deputy news editor and head of the science and technology desk for the Press Trust of India.

The fellowships offer a unique introduction to science reporting for freelancer writers and reporters from smaller metropolitan print and broadcast news outlets, with a demonstrated interest in science writing.

2021 Perlman Mentoring Program Grant Recipients

Thanks to generous donations made in late 2020 in honor of the late David Perlman, CASW was able to support ScienceWriters2021 attendance by participants in NASW’s Perlman Mentoring Program. These grants supported registration and additional expenses associated with attending the virtual conference, in some cases supplementing NASW Support Grants. Some grant recipients also served as conference volunteers.

Olagunju Abdulrahman, Akure, Nigeria, The Federal University of Technology

Hosen Arman, Deptford, New Jersey, Rutgers University

Shannon Bohle, Lima, Ohio, Johns Hopkins University

Saugat Bolakhe, Kathmandu, Nepal

Maggie Chen, Cambridge, Massachusetts, Harvard University

Margaret Gregory, Chadron, Nebraska, Johns Hopkins

Alex Ip, Atlanta, Georgia Tech

Rena Kingery, Bellingham, Washington, Johns Hopkins

Pablo Logano, Sanepa, Kathmandu, Nepal

Ana de las Peñas Rincón, Mexico City, UNAM

Mackenzie White, Austin, Texas, UCLA