The Sharon Begley Fund

Photo collage of Sharon Begley with the Dalai Lama
Left, Sharon Begley with the Dalai Lama, host of a conference for her book, Train Your Mind, Change Your Brain: How a New Science Reveals Our Extraordinary Potential to Transform Ourselves; center, Begley in 2011; right, Begley poses with a sedated wolf in a photo for a Newsweek story in 1991. Photos courtesy Ned Groth.


The Sharon Begley Science Reporting Award

Sharon Begley (1956-2021) was a science journalist of unflinching dedication, skill, moral clarity, and commitment to mentoring. Over more than four decades, her coverage of science for national news outlets was renowned for its authoritative insight and depth, accuracy, scientific rigor, lyrical prose, and myth-busting impact.

The Sharon Begley Science Reporting Award will provide lasting recognition of this remarkable journalist. And at a time when accurate, incisive, responsible science journalism is more essential than ever, this significant award will provide urgently needed recognition and support for reporting that embodies the high standards that Sharon epitomized.

The Council for the Advancement of Science Writing will bestow the Sharon Begley Award in the form of a grant of at least $20,000 to enable a mid-career science journalist to complete a major reporting project they would otherwise be unable to undertake. We aim to create a new and significant award that will inspire and support high standards of excellence in coverage of science, technology, medicine, and the environment.

Funding the Sharon Begley Award

The award is established and funded through the efforts and personal generosity of Edward (Ned) Groth, Sharon’s husband, and other donors, with the support and assistance of CASW’s board and staff. Groth is a scientist, author, and food safety and environmental health consultant who was the longtime director of public service projects for Consumers Union, the publisher of Consumer Reports magazine. Our goal is to create a $1 million dedicated fund, sufficient to support the annual cash grant, ceremony, program administration, and an annual submission and judging process.

Thank you!

More than $700,000 had been raised when the award was announced on September 29, 2021. CASW extends special thanks to Ned Groth, founder; the CASW board members and presidents; and other early endorsers and volunteers who together were responsible for the successful private launch of the campaign.

CASW is deeply grateful to all who have generously contributed to the Sharon Begley Fund. (If you’ve donated but don’t see your name listed here, please let us know at

Alan AldaRuth Ellen GoodmanLynn and William Osborn
Rita Allen FoundationElissa GreenwaldJames Parmentier
Patricia Chambers BalasDennis GrishinBen Patrusky
The Bailey/Jaffe Family FundDaniel GrossFrank Phillips
The Beaty Family Fund
of the Greater Washington
Community Foundation
Bob GrossfeldCharles Piller
Emily BenedekEdward Groth IIIEileen Pollack
Richard BerkeJim HandmanLynn Povich
Marc BomanWilliam HarrisonDorothy and Charles Plohn, Jr.
Helen BranswellJohnson M. HartAric J Press
Willard BunnThomas and Erika HaydenJoel Primack
Debbie Rosenberg Bush
and Gary Bush
Denis HayesChris Quigg
Arthur CaplanJohn HildebrandSheldon Rampton
John CareyJonathan S. HolmanRosalind Reid
Siri CarpenterMary HurleyRobina Riccitiello
Teresa CarrSeth JacobsJoann Rodgers
George ChurchMichael JacobsonDavid Ropeik
Nancy CooperBruce and Georgia JohnsonBarbara Rosen
Jennifer Jackson CoxAndrew JosephYuval Rosenberg
Donald and Becky CustisRon KahnJoel Rosner
John DarbyshireClaudia Kalb
and Steve Sternberg
Dr. Bart Rossi
Greg DaughertyBarbara KantrowitzSylvia Rowe
Charles and Joan DavietDavid KaplanAlan Safran
Laura DeFrancescoJack KasselRick Sax
Lydia DenworthBert KerstetterHenry Schaffer
Peter DeriAbigail KimballPaul Segal
Thomas DeutschKenneth and Ruth KrosinDaniel Shapiro
Eric DezenhallPaul and Lisa KujawskyCarl Sharpe
David DicheckJay LagemannSusan Simpson
David Dollenmayer
and Linda Pape
Ron LandeckBen Sommers
Jennifer Doudna
and Jamie Cate
Julie LangenbergDiana Davis Spencer Foundation
Claudia DreifusAlfred Lewis and Mary TroxellMark Starr
William DucasJoe LevittIan Stokes-Rees
Ecolab in honor of
Joe Levitt
David LiuRich Stone
John EdieAmy Dockser MarcusCarol Stukey
Paul and Anne EhrlichKathryn MarkelSteve Suppan
Donna EskwittOwen and Eileen MathieuMr. and Mrs. Michael Tooke
Steve FeiertagAnn McDanielMr. and Mrs. M. Jay Trees Fund
Ann FinkbeinerJohn I. MerrittMeredith and Henry Von Kohorn
Anne Forrest in honor of Flora PettitMona MillerS. Lynne Walker
Jeffrey FoxPam Cowan and Steve MillerClaudia Wallis
Susan FrakerMorgenstern Davis Family FoundationDavid Williams
Dan FranklinSandra MorrisRon Winslow
Ken FranklinJon and Liane MorseAnonymous donors
Bruce and Barbara FurieJohn Peterson Myers
in memory of Theo Colborn
Anonymous in honor of
Marilynn Marchione
Sandra GaryMary and Sherif NadaThe CASW Board of Directors
Anthony GnoffoIan NisbetBoston Globe Media Partners
Frederic GoldenCate Vojdik and Ivan Oransky