Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

Fellowships and Awards

CASW supports and honors science writing with several fellowships and awards.

The Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting

The deadline for nominations for the Cohn Prize is JUNE 30 (note earlier deadline beginning in 2020). The honoree receives an award of $3,000, a certificate, and travel expenses to attend the award ceremony at the annual banquet of the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing and the National Association of Science Writers. More information . . .

Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award for Young Science Journalists

The Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award is intended to encourage young science writers by recognizing outstanding reporting and writing in any field of science. The winner receives $1,000 and expenses to attend the annual ScienceWriters meeting, which combines the annual National Association of Science Writers workshops and CASW's New Horizons in Science briefings. The deadline for applying is JUNE 30 each year. More information . . .

Taylor/Blakeslee University Fellowships

CASW awards fellowships to students enrolled in U.S. graduate-level science writing programs to help defray the cost of tuition. The fellowship honors the memory of Rennie Taylor, a science writer for Associated Press, whose estate provided funds for the establishment of the American Tentative Society, and Alton Blakeslee, former science editor of the Associated Press, who served as ATS's longtime president. Awards of $5,000 are available to fellows selected on the basis of a national competition. The next application deadline will be in MARCH 2022. More information. . .

New Horizons Traveling Fellowships

CASW offers Traveling Fellowships of up to $1,200 each to cover the costs of attending the New Horizons in Science briefings that are part of the annual ScienceWriters conference. The fellowships are intended primarily for U.S. journalists from publications and broadcast outlets that do not routinely cover major science meetings or employ a full-time science writer. CASW also assigns a veteran science writer to each fellow to serve as mentor and to help ease his/her way through the program. More information . . .

McGrady/Allard Travel Grants (Inactive)

CASW has occasionally made funds available to aspiring science journalists (including those in graduate science writing programs) to help underwrite the costs of travel to other major science meetings. 

Income from the Patrick McGrady/Leo Allard Fund, which was established as part of a bequest to CASW from the American Tentative Society, has supported the enterprise. McGrady (now deceased) and Leo Allard played key roles in the evolution of ATS, a not-for-profit organization that for three decades (until its dissolution in 1994) served to promote public understanding of science and the scientific process.

Income from the fund is currently insufficient to maintain an active program. This page will be updated should CASW be able to award grants in future.